Toranj is a recital of acousmatic pieces created by young Iranian men and women composers. The concert gives insight into the excellent moment and the splendid panorama of the electronic music in Iran, a consoli- dated country with an enormous creative power and sonic imagination. The concert also focusses some historical perspective from the electronic production of one of the most renowned Iranian composers: Alireza Mashayekhi.


Young iranian composers - Toranj - The DK projection



Cradle, pass and projection of the oldest civilizations of humanity and diverse ancestral cultures, Iran possesses an artistic and musical tradition deeply rooted and tightly connected to a sort of spirituality, in the visual and sound realms, both of them characterized by the use of filigree, the geometrical virtuosity and the knowledge of space. This emotional approach to sonic phenomena is traceable in Iranian classical and folk music.



The music presented by The DK<projection> in the recital endeavours to make converge contemporaneity and tradition, dealing masterfully with sound through new technologies. With a deep understanding of space and a ductile treatment of sound, the music by these young Iranian authors unites rationality and emotion at sensitive levels, which are difficult to reach by today´s Western composer. 


Concert program




Alireza MASHAYEKHI (1940)
Shur (1968, 2-channels)


Aso KOHZADI (1982)
Gosast (2014, 2-channels)
cello and voice: Clara Riviere Visier


Sohrab MOTABAR (1984)
Blind (2013, 4-channels)


Siamak ANVARI MOTABAR (1981)
Toranj (2013, 8-channels)





Donia JOURABCHI (1986)
Chijchipa (2013, 6 channels)


Siavash AKHLAGHI (1983)
"Adieu DNA" Keykhosro Said (WFS 192 speakers)
(8 channel versions by the composer, 2014)
voice: Janneke van der Putten


Alireza MASHAYEKHI (1940)
Stratosphaere I (1973, 2-channels)